The fifteenth legislative assembly election is to be held on 6 April 2021 to elect members from 30 constituencies of the Legislative Assembly in the union territory of Puducherry in India. The Election Commission of India (EC) announced dates for assembly elections in Puducherry on Friday. The Puducherry Assembly election 2021 will be held in a single phase on April 6. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

The Puducherry Assembly polls were necessitated after President’s Rule was imposed in the Union Territory, following the V Narayanasamy-led Congress government’s resignation earlier this week ahead of a vote of confidence.

Here’s the full schedule:

Issue of notification: March 12

Last date of nomination: March 19

Scrutiny of nominations: March 20

Last date of withdrawal of candidature: March 22

Date of poll: April 6

Date of counting: May 2

NDA alliance:

The NDA, comprising AINRC, AIADMK, and the BJP, is going ahead with a clear vision and in full coordination to romp home in the April 6 Assembly elections here, BJP in-charge of Puducherry Nirmal Kumar Surana said on Wednesday.

Ending days of suspense, the opposition AINRC in Puducherry on Tuesday firmed up an alliance with the BJP and AIADMK for next month”s assembly elections and exuded confidence that the coalition will emerge victorious at the hustings.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) sealed the seat-sharing agreement with ally NR Congress in Puducherry on Tuesday ahead of the Assembly elections in the Union Territory. BJP named NR Congress’s Rangasamy to lead the NDA alliance comprising of BJP and AIADMK in the upcoming elections in Puducherry. As per the seat-sharing agreement, NR Congress will contest in 16 seats while AIADMK and BJP have been allotted 14 seats.

Elections to the 30-member Puducherry Assembly is to be held in a single-phase, with polling of votes on April 6 followed by the counting of votes and results on May 2.

Already, Surana told reporters, the NDA has finalised that AINRC would contest in 16 out of the total 30 seats here. The AIADMK and BJP which have been earmarked the remaining 14 seats would decide soon the number of seats the two parties would share between themselves.

“These two parties (BJP and AIADMK) would decide the number of seats for each of them,” he said. Surana further said, “The NDA would face the elections here in the name of most successful and popular Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the alliance is headed in Puducherry by Rangasamy

“We are going ahead with full coordination and in a smooth manner. Our alliance is now carrying out our poll-related works under the leadership of AINRC founder-leader and former Chief Minister N Rangasamy, who is an experienced leader and knows Puducherry fully,” he said.

He had said on Tuesday that the NDA would function in the Union Territory under Rangasamy’s leadership. Surana said, “Our aim is to ensure that the Congress-DMK alliance is totally defeated and should not garner even a single seat in the forthcoming polls.”

He declared to open the election office of the BJP today. Among those present on the occasion included former PWD Minister A Namassivayam, who joined the BJP after quitting the Congress in January; president of the Puducherry unit of BJP V Saminathan; and former legislators A John Kumar and E Theeppainjan.

Namassivayam, speaking at the inauguration of the election office of BGP, said the party had emerged as a strong political party in Puducherry. “No dispensation will be possible without BJP in the Union Territory,” he said.

He called upon the rank and file of the parties attached to the NDA to put in hard work to ensure that it formed the next government here.

Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK):

Meanwhile, Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) which announced to fight the forthcoming polls on its own as it was not associated with the seat-sharing exercise by the BJP for Puducherry polls. Convenor of Puducherry unit of the party K Dhanaraj said in a press release that the list of names relating to 12 constituencies in Puducherry and three segments in Puducherry was forwarded to the party founder for his approval.

Congress and DMK alliance:

The Puducherry Pradesh Congress Committee and DMK are likely to finalise the seat-sharing deal for Assembly Elections in the Union Territory on Wednesday. DMK President MK Stalin and Congress General Secretary in-charge of Tamil Nadu Dinesh Gundu Rao are expected to discuss the seat-sharing talks at Anna Arivalayam in Chennai.

Former Puducherry Chief Minister and senior leader of the Congress V Narayanasamy told IANS, “We have almost reached a conclusion, but will finalise it in Chennai. There are certain minor issues to be ironed out and we may sign the deal on Wednesday.” Narayanasamy was tight lipped when asked about the Chief Ministerial candidate of the alliance.

Narayanasamy, who was forced to step down as Chief Minister, said that his party would come back to power in the next Assembly election. He said,”Only a few leaders have left the Congress and the cadres are intact and we will give a fitting reply to the BJP in the elections.”

However, several senior Congress leaders, including party’s state working president AKD Arumugham left the party to join the BJP just days before the election was announced, pulling down the Narayanasamy government. Senior leader and former minister Namassivayam had also raised a banner of revolt and then joined the BJP.