In Maharashtra, the BJP-Shiv Sena combine won the state election but then broke up. However, Maharashtra politics witnessed many a twists and turns after the assembly poll results were declared on October 24. As of 12 November, 2019, the State of Maharashtra had been put under President’s Rule. 

Scripting a new political chapter in the state, the Shiv Sena ditched its old ally BJP, which had won maximum 105 seats, and joined hands with former rivals NCP and Congress to form a Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi (MVA) coalition government.

Suddenly the BJP persuaded Ajit Pawar of the NCP to become deputy chief minister in a new coalition, hoping to persuade other NCP members to join too. The BJP government had earlier launched nine corruption cases relating to a Rs 70,000 crore irrigation scam against Ajit Pawar. These magically disappeared when he offered his hand in government formation with BJP.

President Ram Nath Kovind signed the proclamation for revocation of the central rule on 23rd November, 2019, the governor swore in Devendra Fadnavis and Pawar as chief minister and deputy chief minister respectively, and ordered a floor test after a fortnight, presumably, giving them time to “persuade” others to join.

Once again, the Supreme Court ordered a quick floor test, eliminating any horse trading of MLAs. In all these cases, political parties often herded their MLAs into a heavily guarded hotel or luxury resort to prevent them from selling themselves to other parties. This was an open confession of their own utter corruptibility.

However, on 26th November, Devendra Fadnavis had to resign as chief minister due to not enjoying majority in the legislative assembly. Subsequently, Sena president Uddhav Thackeray took oath of the new MVA government on Thursday, November 28. The alliance government won floor test comfortably on Saturday, Nov.30, with the support of 169 MLAs in the 288-member Assembly. Ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA), captured the post of Maharashtra Assembly Speaker as well. Nana Patole of Indian National Congress was elected, unopposed, the Speaker of the house.

The new government is already inaction and had taken certain actions based on their election promises.

Below is the list of seven ministers, including chief minister Uddhav Thackeray. So far ministerial portfolios have not been assigned.

No. Name           Constituency Party                             Portfolio

1 Uddhav Thackeray Not elected Shiv Sena                       Chief Minister

2 Jayant Patil slampur Nationalist Congress Party

3 Chhagan Bhujbal Yeola Nationalist Congress Party

4 Balasaheb Thorat angamner Indian National Congress

5 Nitin Raut Nagpur North Indian National Congress

6 Eknath Shinde Kopri-Pachpakhadi Shiv Sena

7 Subhash Desai MLC Shiv Sena

In the above team of ministers:

Shinde and Desai were health and industries ministers respectively in the previous Devendra Fadnavis government.

Bhujbal was a deputy chief minister, while Patil had held portfolios like finance and rural development during the 15 years rule of the Congress-NCP till 2014.

Thorat and Raut have been revenue and animal husbandry ministers respectively for some time during the same period.

It is a matter of research for political elders to ascertain the beneficiary of all these events. Nevertheless, political novice like us are convinced that Pawar family had ladoo in both their hands in the new scenario.