Assembly elections in Bihar for 243 seats are to be held in three phases, beginning October 28, and results will be declared on November 10.

In the name of establishing the next generation by the veteran leaders, or in the name of hiding muscle power or gathering votes according to the caste equation, kinship-kinship is very important in this election. Most of the leaders are old. Instead of giving place to dedicated activists, they try to give their place to their children or relatives. The leaders did not shy away from getting tickets this time to son-daughter, wife, brother, even son-in-law and samadhi.

At some places, mother-son are also candidates. Almost all major parties except BJP also showed generosity in this. Those who were disqualified to contest elections for some reason or the other, they fielded their relatives.

Besides, quite a few candidates happen to be wives of those with criminal backgrounds, whom the party may stand accused of trying to accommodate while appearing to maintain a distance.


Janata Dal-United (JDU)

JDU has fielded Chandrika Rai, the son of former Chief minister of Bihar, Daroga Rai, who is contesting from Parsa constituency which is considered to be the traditional seat of the family.

Meena Kamat, daughter-in-law of late Kapildev Kamat, the Panchayati Raj Minister who died due to COVID-19 this month, has been fielded by JDU from Babubarahi seat in Madhub

Nikhil Mandal, the grandson of BP Mandal, the first non-congress Chief Minister of Bihar and Chairperson of backward class commission better known as Manadal Commission has been fielded from Madhepura by JDU.

There are a few candidates who switched from RJD to JDU like Faraz Fatmi, son of former HRD Minister Mohd Ali Asharaf Fatmi has been fielded from Darbhanga by JDU.

Another candidate Jaivardhan Singh Yadav, grandson of of former Bihar minister Ram Lakhan Singh Yadav, has been given a ticket from the Paliganj seat.

Shalini Mishra, daughter of Kamala Mishra Madhukar, who was MP of the Communist Party of India, has been given a ticket from Kesariya assembly seat by JDU.

Poornima Yadav, wife of MLA Kaushal Yadav has been fielded from Govindpur.

Satya Prasad Singh, the son of recently deceased senior RJD leader and former union minister Raghuvansh Prasad Singh, recently joined JDU and has been fielded from Mahnar seat of Vaishali district.


Rastriya Janata Dal (RJD)

RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav’s younger son Tejaswi Yadav, who is chief ministerial face of the ‘mahagathbandhan’ or the grand alliance is contesting from Raghopur.

Lalu Prasad Yadav’s elder son Tej Pratap Yadav is contesting from Hasanpur Assembly seat.

Sudhakar Singh, son of party state president Jagadanand Singh has been fielded by RJD from Ramgarh assembly seat.

Rishi Singh, son of former Union minister and president of RJD’s women cell Kanti Singh has been fielded by RJD from Obra assembly seat.

Rahul Tiwari, son of RJD’s vice-president and senior leader, Shivanand Tiwari, has been fielded from Shahpur assembly seat.

Dibya Prakash, daughter of former union minister Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav has been fielded by RJD from Tarapur assembly constituency.

Son of former union minister Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav has been fielded by RJD from Jamui assembly constituency.

Abdul Gafoor’s son Asif Gafoor has given ticket from Gopalganj.

Randhir Kumar Singh, the son of former Lok Sabha MP Prabunath Singh has been fielded by RJD from Chapra assembly constituency.

Wives of several RJD leaders are also in the fray. The party has not avoided the relatives of those accused of heinous crimes like rape

Veena Singh, the wife of Strongman Rama Kishore Singh, has been fielded by RJD from the Manhar  seat in the Vaishali district.

Vibha Devi, the wife of RJD leader Raj Ballabh Yadav, has been fielded by RJD from the Nawada seat after her husband was imprisoned for life for raping a minor.

Kiran Devi, the wife of Arun Yadav, who was elected last time from Sandesh, and who currently absconding after being accused of rape of a minor, has been fielded from Sandesh.

Lalan Kumar, son of former minister Srinarayan Yadav has been fielded from Sahebpur Kamal (Begusarai)

Ajay Yadav son of Kranti Devi to has been fielded from Atari (Gaya)

Bulo Mandal husband of MLA Varsha Rani has been fielded from Bihpur (Bhagalpur)

Ritu Jaiswal, a leader of JDU and the head of the Singhwahini Panchayat of Sitamarhi, joined RJD when JDU denied her a ticket. She has been given ticket by RJD from Parihar assembly constituency.

The party has also handed tickets to the wife and son of the Rajput strongman Anand Mohan, the main accused in the killing of the Dalit district magistrate of Gopalganj, IAS officer G. Krishnaiah, in 1994. He is now serving a life sentence for the murder.

While Mohan’s wife, Lovely Anand, has the RJD ticket from the Saharsa constituency, their son Chetan Anand is also contesting on a party ticket from Sheohar.


The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP)

Nitin Navin, the son of BJP leader the late Naveen Kishor Prasad Sinha, has been fielded from Bankipur seat.

Among the major parties, the BJP has brought a major chunk of familyism within the party this time. Many leaders kept demanding tickets for their son-daughter-in-law or relative, but the party did not listen to them. This is the reason why the intention of Union Minister Ashwini Choubey could not be fulfilled. Instead of his son, the party declared another candidate in Bhagalpur. 

The only exception to this is the former Union Minister Digvijay Singh’s daughter Indian shooter Shreyasi Singh, who has been given a ticket from Jamui by the BJP.

However, the BJP too has fielded Aruna Devi, wife of the don Akhilesh Singh, at Warisaliganj in Nawada. The party has also handed a ticket to Munni Devi, sister-in-law of the gangster Visheshwar Ojha, who was killed in a shootout in 2017.


The Congress

The Congress has also given ticket to kin of its senior leaders. 

Shubhanand Singh, the son of Congress Legislature Party leader in Bihar assembly Sadanad Singh has been fielded from Kahangaon seat in Bhagalpur.

Shashi Shekhar Singh, the son of congress leader Awadhesh Kumar Singh has been fielded from Kahangaon seat in Bhagalpur.

Luv Sinha, the son of actor politician Shatrughan Sinha, has been fielded from Bankipur seat. 

Subhashini Yadav, the daughrt of socialist leader Sharad Yadav, has been fielded by Congress party from from Bihariganj in Madhepura.


Lok Janshakti Party (LJP)

LJP, which is called the family’s party has given ticket to family members and relatives of its founder late Ram Vilas Paswan.

The Union Minister’s brother Pashupati Kumar Paras, who is the Bihar state chief of the party, has been fielded from the reserved Alouli assembly seat.

Prince Raj, the son of LJP chief’s brother and Lok Sabha MP Ram Chandra Paswan, makes his debut from another reserved constituencey Kalyanpur

Mr Vilal, son-in-law of Ram Vilas Paswan, has been fielded from Rajapakar (Vaishali) and 

former MP Late. Ramachandra Paswan’s son Krishna Raj has been fielded from Rosda (Samastipur).

Chirag Paswan’s LJP has fielded Hulas Pandey, the younger brother of criminal-turned-politician Sunil Pandey, from the Brahmpur seat.A

Plurals Party

Plurals Party chief Pushpam Priya, who came into the limelight after announcing herself as CM candidate in several newspapers in Bihar, is also the daughter of JDU leader and MLC Vinod Choudhary whose candidates are contesting all the seats. Pushpam Priya has filed nomination from Bankipur Assembly seat of Patna.