The Kerala Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) has a total number of 140 seats, of which, 14 seats are reserved for the Scheduled Castes and two seats are reserved for the Scheduled Tribes. The outgoing Assembly has eight female MLAs and rest 132 are male MLAs. The current Kerala Niyamasabha session will expire on 1 June, 2021.

The LDF, the UDF and the NDA—the three principal political fronts in Kerala. In the previous elections in 2016, the Left Democratic Front (LDF) had won the election bagging around two-third of the total seats in the assembly, defeating the incumbent United Democratic Front (UDF), led by the Indian National Congress (INC), which could only win 47 seats in the election. The BJP won one seat, and the remaining seat was won by an independent, who later formed the party Kerala Janapaksham (Secular).

The 2021 Kerala Legislative Assembly election is scheduled to be held in Kerala in April 2021 to elect 140 MLAs to the 15th Kerala Legislative Assembly. The election will be conducted on 6 April and counting of votes will be conducted on 2 May.

The three principal political fronts in Kerala—have expedited the process of selecting their candidates for all the 140 assembly constituencies. However, voters in Kerala would have to wait for some time more to know the candidates of major parties for the assembly election scheduled for April 6. The list of candidates could be released by March 10, two days before the issue of gazette notification on election.

Parties and Alliances:

LDF is one of the two major political coalitions in Kerala, the other being the UDF each of which has been in power alternatively for the last four decades.

The United Democratic Front (UDF) is an alliance of centre to centre-left political parties led by the Indian National Congress (INC). The Left Democratic Front (LDF) is a coalition of left-wing political parties, led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPIM). The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) is a coalition of right-wing parties.

United Democratic Front (UDF):

It is an alliance of central and centre-left political parties in the state, created by the prominent Congress party leader K. Karunakaran in 1978.

The following are key allies of United Democratic Front

  1. Indian National Congress, 
  2. Kerala Congress (Joseph),

III. Revolutionary Socialist Party, 

  1. Kerala Congress (Jacob), 
  2. Communist Marxist Party (John), 
  3. Bhartiya National Janata Dal, 

VII. All India Forward Block, 

VIII. Nationalist Congress Kerala, 

  1. Indian Union Muslim League.

Opposition Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) said the seat-sharing agreement will be clinched shortly. Talks hit a roadblock in the UDF after the Kerala Congress (Joseph) faction insisted on 13 seats but Congress was ready to part with only 10 seats. “We are on the last lap. Once it is over screening committee members will go to Delhi with the party list and the final announcement will be made in Delhi after getting the high command’s nod,” said opposition leader Ramesh Chennithala. The party is likely to contest in 90 seats.

Left Democratic Front (LDF):

It is an alliance of left-wing political parties in the state. It is one of the two major political coalitions in Kerala, the other being the UDF each of which has been in power alternatively for the last four decades. LDF is currently in power. The coalition consists of CPI(M), CPI and a variety of other smaller parties.

The following are key allies of Left Democratic Front

  1. Communist Party of India (Marxist), 
  2. Communist Party of India, 

III. Janata Dal (Secular), 

  1. Nationalist Congress Party, 
  2. Kerala Congress (M), 
  3. Kerala Congress (Skaria Thomas), 

VII. Congress (Secular), 

VIII. Janadhipathya Kerala Congress, 

  1. Indian National League, 
  2. Kerala Congress (B), 
  3. Loktantrik Janata Dal.


The ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) said its talks are in the final stage and a complete picture will emerge in a couple of days.

Five CPM ministers and the Speaker are unlikely to make it to the candidate list of the party for the April 6 Kerala Assembly Election as the leading ruling party in the state has decided to harshly implement the own norms of barring its legislators or former candidates from contesting again if they have contested two times on the trot. Also, it was decided earlier decided that CPM candidates who had lost in the 2019 Lok Sabha election also need not be considered for the state polls as per this regulation.

This has upset the party cadre and office in several parts of the state as their favourite leader may have to sit out of the poll fray. However, an exemption has been given to P. Rajeev, K n Balagopal, V N Vasavan and M B Rajesh.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA):

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is an Indian political alliance made up of centre-right and right-wing political parties led by Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). It was founded in 1998 and currently controls the Indian Union Government as well as many other Indian States. NDA Kerala is part of NDA National Alliance. In Kerala NDA is the third front as an alternative to LDF & UDF. NDA is a strong contender in all seats in assembly elections and Lok Sabha elections. NDA has a vote share of nearly 20% in Kerala NDA is the main opposition in the Kerala state Capital Corporation. In many occasions NDA supported the CPM led State Government in the legislative assembly since 2016 until 2021.

The following are key allies of National Democratic Alliance Kerala:


  1. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
  2. Bharath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS)

III. Shiv Sena (SS)

  1. Kerala Kamaraj Congress (KKC)
  2. Kerala Hindu Mahasabha (ABHM)
  3. Democratic Social Justice Party (DSJP)

VII. Lok Janshakti Party


  1. Kerala Congress (Thomas)
  2. Kerala Congress (Nationalist)
  3. Janata Dal United

XII. Socialist Janatha

XIII. Bharathiya Karma Sena (BKS)

XIV. Democratic Labour Party (DLP)

  1. Kerala People’s Party (KPP)

XVI. Praja Socialist Party (PSP)

XVII. National Democratic Party


The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance also said it had finalised seat-sharing and details will be announced after the culmination of the BJP state president’s yatra in the state capital on Sunday which will be addressed by Union home minister Amit Shah. Going by initial trends, 140 seats in the state are likely to witness a fierce three-cornered contest this time.